Moments with Micah

Told by: Kylynn

My loss at 16 weeks. When my first child was about 8 months old, we decided to try again because we wanted to have our children close in age. It took 3 months, which isn’t too bad if you think about it but I was so happy to be expecting again. We immediately told everyone 🙂 My first appointment went well. I had only a little morning sickness, Honestly, I felt great. When I was 11 weeks along, my husband who is in the navy, was sent to guam to help a boat for a few months. It wasn’t a big deal and I was thrilled for him to have the opportunity. 3 weeks, I woke in the middle of the night to a gush. Thinking I had peed in my sleep, I went to the bathroom. It took 4 minutes for me to realize I was covered in blood. I called my Ombudsmen(supportive military wife) Who rushed me to the hospital and watched my 1 year old. My husband called and not knowing better, I informed him I had lost the baby. About 20 minutes later, they FINALLY did an ultrasound. The first thing the doctor said was “oh shit” and turned the screen to me. There was a perfect, happy baby wiggling around. I started crying. The navy sent my husband home just in case anything happened again so I wouldn’t have to deal with it alone. Almost 2 weeks passed, my husband came home and everything seemed fine. My bleeding stopped, I could feel movement and was happy to be past that moment of pain. The night before hitting my 16 week mark, I was in a lot of pain. Lots of cramps, stomach aches, the runs. I thought I had a virus and everytime I woke up that night, I would try to go the the bathroom, then go back to bed. At 9 am, I couldn’t take it anymore. I called my husband, he came home and took me to the er. The discovered I was dialted to 2cm and had a blood clot coming out. They assured me it would pass and be fine. They sent me home, told me to lay down and they gave me a shot of pain killer. We got home at noon and my husband tried making me feel better by setting up a movie for our son, and making me lunch. I decided to go to the bathroom and then lay down. I was exhausted. I sat on the toilet, peed then felt like the clot was coming out so I pushed a little. There was a huge gush and I felt relief at least. I went to wipe and felt something weird. I foll.owed it and suddenly touched a foot. I lifted my baby out of the toilet. The baby was wiggling and clearly struggling. I watched my 16 week old little boy die in my hands. He lived 2 minutes. I will never forget that. After a call to 911, I was rushed to the hospital with my husband. A neighbor took our son though at the time I had no clue he wasn’t even with me anymore (my 1 year old). Upon arrival at the hospital, they determine I had not passed the placenta and would need a d & c. It was scheduled for 3 hours later. In that 3 hours, a nurse called the hospital photographer, the dental clinic and the chaplain. They took pictures for me, made imprints of his tiny hands and feet and prayed with us. The chaplain blessed our little Micah Andrew. He then personally took him to the lab for me. I then had surgery and was released the next morning. We were home maybe 2 hours before I started calling funeral homes to make arrangements. Micah was picked up and hour later by a wonderful man who did everything he could to be there for me. To this day he still sends my husband and I cards. I had my little man cremated and his ashes are in a heart charm that I wear daily. After all this was done, I had testing done. It turns out, I have a blood clotting disorder and if I had made it past 30 weeks, I would have died due to the severity of the clots that had already formed in the uterus and the placenta. Micah saved my life. 6 weeks after his passing I got pregnant again. It was rough. I went into preterm labor many times. I passed clots, was on bedrest and became depressed. But he was born at 38 weeks 2 days, healthy and beautiful. He is now 9 months old (Tomorrow ) and I thank Micah everyday for his sacrifice for his little brother. I will never forget my Micah. He is always with me and always will be. I can’t wait to see him again someday. Mommy loves you Micah.

This entry was posted in 16 weeks, Live Miscarriage. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moments with Micah

  1. Cindy says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. My baby also died at 16 weeks, but in the womb, and I delivered him 4 weeks later. I can not imagine your sadness. God Bless, Cindy

  2. Syds.Kid says:

    Thank you for sharing. I, too, can see the blessing of my son, born too early. Through his entirely short life, we have learned some things about me and certain conditions that were not known. At least my son’s life and death, like Micah’s, have a purpose. They did not live and die in vain!

  3. Victoria says:

    Kylynn, Thank you for sharing your story. I recently went through something similar at 22 weeks into my pregnancy. May I ask, what blood clotting disorder you have? Our stories seem so similar. Please e-mail me if you would. Thank you and I am so sorry for your loss of baby Micah. My email is sprout08@hotmail.com

  4. Lindsay Q. says:

    Thank you for your story. I don’t know very many people who have had live miscarriages. I struggle with a lot of sadness and guilt because he was alive and had to struggle. I am so sorry for your loss. You are very strong.

Leave a Reply

