Anias and Second Timothy

Told by: Anna

The story of Anias
Sunday, May 8, 2011 at 12:03am.

It all started when I called Paulette [the midwife] thinking I was in labor, she said she’d be here soon, but things stalled out, so when she got here we hung out at a mutual friends house for a little while, and decided to do a check up when we got home. From 11pm to 2am we tried to find a heartbeat and couldn’t. At 2 we went into the hospital to get a confirming ultrasound, and had kind of a bad time getting any help, our nurse was awful, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise, and we ended up walking out at 4am without any more info than when we came.

The next morning we woke up early to run in and get squeezed in for an ultrasound, they fit us in for 2pm, the Dr there was so amazingly thorough and sweet and honest, he walked us through everything and said the baby was perfect, and it’s just one of those things, it just happens sometimes, there was no reason, and nothing that would have predicted it.

We asked him for advice on what to do, he said we could do a c-section, an induction, or we could just go home and wait to have the baby like we had planned, so that’s what we decided to do.

During this time of waiting, God did so many amazing things! He sent so many friends who have gone through the same or similar situations that could give us first hand advice! He prepared our hearts and we drew near to Him. He showed us and our midwife that with out a doubt, we were to have this baby at home; He took such great care of us and gave us everything we needed even before we knew to ask!! What a great God we serve!!!

One of the verses that really made a difference at this time was 2 Timothy 1:7 “God has not given us a spirit of fear but a spirit of love, a spirit of power, and of sound mind”

We had such a peace about having Anias at home as we had planned, so we were just waiting to see if Paulette would be comfortable handling a home-stillbirth. She had talked to some people who gave her a little fear about helping us have Anias, so she decided to pray and fast for the day, and we told her we were seeking God and asking for his will to be revealed too. The next day we called back later that evening. She said that she could do the birth, but only under one condition, we had to give her some of the verses we had found, that confirmed for us that we were supposed to have Anias at home. I kind of panicked a little, trying to remember everything we had been thinking on and talking about, but Neil grabbed an index card from the wall, I had written 3 weeks prior with a few verses on it. He read off 2 Tim 1:7 “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, a spirit of love and of sound mind” then he started to read another and Paulette stopped him and said that was enough! She told us she asked God for confirmation, that we would answer her with a verse from 2 Timothy!! What an awesome God!! We were so happy to get a “for sure” go-ahead from God!

Pretty much everyday, if not multiple time each day, God was answering us in so many ways, our prayers our questions, our need for direction and guidance! We are still amazed at how He cares for us! Even now His hand is seen almost everyday is some way, He is constantly guiding and caring for us!!! We wouldn’t trade ANYTHING to be where He has put us now; He truly knows what is best and has a perfect plan for everything!!! It’s so great to be completely in His will!!!

Labor started on the night of April 14th, my water had broken around 3pm that evening right after I woke up from a nap with Nakyla, I called Neil and told him to come home, and decided to call Paulette and let her know what was going on. I didn’t have much of any contractions until around 10pm or 11pm I had told Paulette earlier to take her time, and I think I called back later to let her know things were picking up. Around 11 we decided to go to bed and left a note for Paulette on the door to let her know how often my contractions were coming, and that we would wake her when things got stronger. I got up around 2:30 because things were so strong and now coming often enough, that I couldn’t get much sleep. Neil woke Paulette up around 3 and we called or texted my labor support people, one of which came right away and the other who has small children I told to sleep a little more.

I labored on the couch for another couple hours. A little before 6am I texted my other labor support and she said she was on her way.  Paulette checked me to make sure I was ready to get in the pool; she said yes I was ready, so I hopped into the birthing pool. I remember being ready to go once I hit the water. His head was born fairly quickly and easily, but the shoulders got stuck, so I had to get out of the pool, we worked on the shoulders for so long! Paulette, Neil and I started crying out to God to deliver this baby, he was so stuck!  After a good 15 minutes or so his shoulders were free and he was born at 7:15am. I could not believe what manly shoulders he had! He was so big! 9lbs and 14oz and 21 inches long! We just sat there for a minute in awe! I don’t understand how we had him, he was just so big! Truly God did deliver him! We picked the name Anias, because it means God answers. God answered our prayers so many times and the prayers of so many who know us, we were, and are, so lifted in prayer, and God is even still answering us! He is so awesome!

This birth with Paulette was such a healing one, she is such an amazing care provider, I’m taken care of physically, spiritually, emotionally, and medically. I’m so glad that she was here to help us recover and was so pleased she was able to come with us to the hospital and ultrasound and to share our pain.

The next afternoon was the burial, we had picked a beautiful little country cemetery out by Neil’s families land, and had a small service for our home-church family and close relatives. Our home church leader,  pastor, and close friend, Sean Banks, was the speaker, and one of the guys from church, who has an amazing voice sang, I’ll Fly Away, and It Is Well With My Soul. It was a beautiful sunny day, Sean spoke on the twenty third Psalm, and afterwards everyone had lunch at Neil’s parents house, which is less that a few miles away. It was such a blessed time to be able to talk with family and close friends.

Thank you to everyone for all your prayers and support. We have been so blessed by everyone’s generosity! We are so thankful that God is in control and that we can trust in the Lord with all our hearts and lean not on our own understanding, but in all our ways acknowledge Him and He will direct our paths~ Proverbs 3:5 & 6
 

This entry was posted in 38 weeks, 39 weeks, 40 weeks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anias and Second Timothy

  1. Siobhan T says:

    I am truly inspired by your faith. I too lost my daughter at 38 weeks on 11/2/11….I was so strong in the beginning and I feel myself getting really depressed now. I was on the web looking for similar stories and came upon your story. I am so thankful I came across your story. About to read these scriptures. THANK YOU! God Bless You and Your Family!!!

Leave a Reply

