My Ariel

Told by: Tara

My story starts with a blighted ovum.  If you want to read about my other losses, please check under Addison in 8 weeks and Adam in 17 weeks.  Aemon‘s story has been added here too.

Ariel Joanna 11-22-05.  Here is her story:

After trying to get pregnant for a year, we finally were excited to get a positive test! Everything was going well and I was feeling great. at 11 weeks, my OB couldn’t find a heartbeat, so she sent me for an ultrasound. I wasn’t worried because I was overweight and had a tilted uterus. It was always difficult getting that first heartbeat for me!  I got to the hospital and the ultrasound began. I could see the screen and saw an empty sac. I just figured the baby was hiding. The baby HAD to be there! I hadn’t bled or passed anything, so clearly the baby couldn’t get out.

After a few minutes, the technician explained I had what was called a blighted ovum. She said its where the baby just never develops, but the pregnancy continues along because it doesn’t know there is no baby. I discussed my options with my OB and we waited a few days to see if my body caught on.

It didn’t, so I scheduled a D&C, very hesitantly. The procedure was simple, the recovery, easy. My heart was broken, but I trusted that God knew what He was doing.

At the time, people made me feel like I didn’t have a real loss because there was no baby. I didn’t believe that because even though the baby never developed into a visible human, there was clearly an exchange of chromosomes and unique DNA was present. We don’t know the sex, but we named this baby Ariel.

This entry was posted in 11 weeks, Blighted Ovum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

